Luminar attempts to accurately track both the edits applied to an image and its location on your hard drive or network.
However it is possible for an image to go missing. This typically happens for one of a few reasons.
- Luminar was closed when you moved an image to another folder
- Luminar was closed when you renamed an image or folder
- You moved an image at the Finder/Explorer level to a different location that isn’t in your Luminar library.
The images will reconnect and be added to your library:
- If the chosen folder is already in your Library – all edits transfer to the selected image(s). The images are automatically removed from the Lost Edits collection. If multiple images are in the same folder, their Lost Edits will also be resolved.
- If the selected folder is not in your Library – the new folder is added to your Luminar library and all edits are transferred to the image(s). The images are automatically removed from the Lost Edits collection. If multiple images are in the same folder, their Lost Edits will also be resolved.
In order for the selected photos to reconnect, Luminar checks 3 parameters for the selected images.
- Source file name,
- Image dimensions in pixels
- Original creation date
If all three properties match, the image will reconnect automatically. However it is still possible to reconnect if the file name was changed as long as the image dimensions and creation date still match. If these properties do not match, you will receive an alert that “Image (image_name) not found in selected folder" and the folder cannot be added.
Once a photo is matched, the following occurs:
- If all photos from album Lost Edits are located, the album disappears from the Shortcuts list.
- All attributes are transferred and are available for the selected photos.
- If there were multiple images from the same folder in Lost Edits > all these images will be located and added to the Library.
- For Raw+JPEG files, these will also be reconnected.